The Colorado Commission on Higher Education (CCHE), which acts as the policy and coordinating board for all public institutions of higher education in Colorado, is a nine-member board appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Colorado State Senate.

Colorado Commission on Higher Education
1560 Broadway, Suite 1600
Denver, CO 80202

Western is governed by the Western Colorado University Board of Trustees, a nine-member lay board. Trustees are appointed by the Governor to four-year terms. One faculty trustee and one student trustee are elected by their constituents and serve one-year terms.​