Western Honors Program Kicks Off 30th Year with Annual Banquet

Western Honors Students stand together in the ICELab.

Western Honors Program Kicks Off 30th Year with Annual Banquet

Courtesy of Kelsey Bennett
Photo by May 10, 2019

On Thursday, April 18 the Honors Program celebrated 14 graduates and recipients of the Presidential Honors Scholarship at the annual Honors Spring Banquet. After three decades, the program continues to grow and foster academic leadership excellence across campus and in the community.

Class of 2019 Honors Graduates are: Krista Chavez, Kate Mann, Colton Salsbury, Patrick Tan, Ryan Belson, Caitlin Berns, Julian Cullumber, MacKenzie Gierach, Gordon Gianniny, Eirk Hillman, Ma’alaea Lawrence, Travis Olmstead, Spencer Shiplette and Sara Viner. 

The 2019 class of Honors graduates represent a wide array of majors and interest areas across Western, including everything from education and social justice in film to what it means to be a free person. Following graduation, all members are either pursuing graduate school, research internships or jobs in their respective fields.

Four of eight 2019 Alumni Award for Excellence winners are also Honors graduates: Gordon Gianniny, Spencer Shiplett, Sara Viner and Cassandra Grigware.

This year’s Presidential Honors Scholarship awardees are: Jennifer Harter (Psychology), Autumn Mova (Biology), Kate Stern (Business Administration), Madison Northern (Environment & Sustainability, Economics), Olivia Murphy-Welconish (Psychology), Avery Forsythe (Sociology), Tjade Schmidt (Biology), Brady Hogan (Biology), Meghan LaHatte (Art) and James Bivens (Exploratory).

The Western Honors Program is more than just a mark of distinction on a transcript. As part of a community that values individual excellence and celebrates the achievements of others, these graduates are prepared to continue constructive roles in local, national, and global communities.