SGA election results announced

A group of SGA members pose for a photo

SGA election results announced

Story by Katie Lyons
Carley Clegg
Photo by Apr 23, 2020

On Monday, April 20, Western released the names of several newly elected Student Government Association (SGA) members for the 2020-21 school year. These elected students will help allocate funds, serve as advocates for student-led initiatives and protect the rights and privileges of the student body.

Rising senior Miriam Olvera will serve as Student Body President. She will be supp[EH1] orted by Vice President for Internal Affairs Megan Walton and Vice President for External Affairs Jackson Piggott. Additionally, the following 12 students were elected as senators:

  • Mackenzie Burt
  • Allison D’Ercole
  • Saydie Ferris
  • Eric Fike
  • Audrey Mosher
  • Axel Nay
  •  Madison Patton
  • Kaleb Pedrie
  • Laine Piggott
  • Paige Rumery
  • Kali Stier
  • Rosalinda Van Dyke

These senators will represent the interests and voices of students across campus, and will work with the Executive Board members to create policies that promote a campus culture in which the needs of all students are met.

There are still several elected positions that are yet to be announced, including those on the Student Advisory Board. The students elected to serve in these positions will be announced before the end of the spring semester, and the SGA 2020-21 members will begin serving in their roles at the beginning of the Fall 2020 semester.