ResLife starts new program to increase student involvement

A group of students pose together in the ICELab

ResLife starts new program to increase student involvement

Date: Monday, September 18, 2017 - 3:00pm

Students in several residence halls are forming hall councils aimed at building a stronger community.

Escalante, Moffat/Mears and Ute/Robidoux will each boast their own council. As part of this initiative, students holding positions will plan, promote and advocate for programs and events within the halls.

There are five different positions available for each living complex: a president who will oversee all of the hall council for that complex; a programming chair whose responsibilities are to plan and promote programs for the residents; a service chair who will help connect residents to community service opportunities; a marketing communication chair will help promote planned events, policies and share meeting notes; and a treasurer who is in charge of the budget. Members of the hall council also have opportunities to attend regional leadership conferences, as well as an international leadership conference.

There was a lot of interest in the residence assistant (RA) position for this fall, sparking the idea to bring back the hall council, said Jon Stubblefield, the residence director for the Escalante Complex.

The council is another way for students to get more involved with ResLife, build leadership skills, voice any issues hall members have and strengthen community. This is also a great opportunity for students who are interested in applying to be an RA at any point.

“In Escalante, there are about 300 people living in the four buildings," Stubblefield said. "So rather than the eight RAs being in charge of all of the programming and community developments, the hall council can help build a community for that complex."

The goal is to build the hall council system—maybe upgrade to a hall government system. But for now, they are focusing on developing the hall council within each complex.

This year 23 people were chosen for the Hall Council.

Ute/Robidoux hall council: Jo Raetzel, Max Oldham, Felicity Hensley, Denim Sendejo, Abril Gomez-Morales, Shelbie Hilton, Emma Mantooth, Gillian Steininger, Caleb Walker and Max Bartel.

Escalante hall council: Nicole Doll, Kaleb Vierra, Isabella McMillan, Zoe Hammer, Saydie Ferris, Christian Robb, Maxwell Parker, Katherine Liptrap, Jonathan Kloke and Tommy Evon.

Moffat/Mears hall council: Kerry Swanson, Taya Olson and Jacob Babineau.

Story and photos by Taya Olson.