Neighboring States Program

Freshmen and transfer students (24 semester credits or more) with a permanent address from one of the seven contiguous neighboring states to Colorado and have demonstrated financial need are automatically considered for a special $1,000 per year grant, totaling $4,000 over four years.

The Western Neighboring States Program can be added to WUE, Central Plains, or merit scholarships. So, if you are a permanent resident of one of the following states, and show financial need, the rest is automatic.

Neighboring States

  • Arizona 
  • Kansas 
  • Nebraska 
  • New Mexico 
  • Oklahoma 
  • Utah 
  • Wyoming

There is no separate application process. All students are reviewed with a completed application file.

Renewal Requirements for Neighboring States Program

To continue receiving the Neighboring States Tuition Program, students must:

  • Enroll and complete a minimum of 24 credit hours each year.
  • Maintain a cumulative 2.0 GPA
  • Meet satisfactory academic requirements.
  • A maximum of 8 semesters of eligibility will be awarded to freshman students and 6 semesters of eligibility will be awarded to transfer students.