Cashier's Office

Directory

Welcome to the Cashier's Office

The Cashier’s Office is here to help you and your family learn everything you need to know about charges, payment options and refund policies.

Our office also provides information regarding student and family financial rights and responsibilities. We aim to provide professional and personal service to ensure that your transactions are processed smoothly.  

Please see the tabs below for more information about billing, payment options and payment policies.

Billing and Due Dates

Account statements are mailed once per semester to the billing address on file.

Students will receive an email notification via their Western email account when the tuition and fee bill is available online at the beginning of each semester. 

Account statements include tuition, mandatory fees, optional fees, on-campus housing, meal plans and other direct university-related costs. If you do not see your on-campus housing or meal plan charges on your account statement, please contact the Residence Life Office.

Parents and other authorized third-party payers can access account balance information directly through Western's ePayment Site after the student follows instructions to "Set Up a Third-Party Account," below.

Payment is due on the first official start date of each semester. For those who wish to spread out their payments, a monthly payment plan is available. In either case, payment must be made on the first official start date of each semester to avoid late fees or being removed from your courses for non-payment.

Financial aid is NOT reflected on your paper billing statements.

Set Up a Third Party Account
  • Log into MyWestern.
  • Click on “Pay Bill/Deposit or Purchase Items." This will bring you to the ePayment site.
  • Click “Add New” in the Parent PINs box.

After these steps are completed, third-party payments can be made on Western's ePayment Site.

Financial Responsibility

Registration for classes at Western implies an obligation by the student to meet all related financial responsibilities in a timely manner. 

Students who do not fulfill their financial obligations according to published deadlines are subject to the following:

  • Being dropped from courses during the add/drop period (for non-payment).
  • Losing access to MyWestern accounts, on-campus computers, residence halls and meal plans.
  • Withholding of transcripts.

Students will be charged a $50 fee to re-enroll into their courses. See "Late Fees" for more information. 

Past due accounts will be turned over to Colorado Central Collection Services in accordance with Colorado law. Collection costs will be added to the student's account and delinquencies may be reported to national credit bureaus.

Late Fees

Students who do not pay their bills by the due date each semester will be fined a $50 late fee. A late fee is assessed each month thereafter, meaning the fee will be charged for each month the student's account is past due. 

Accounts not in good standing by the last day of each semester will be assessed an additional $50 late charge. Failure to pay the bill in time will result in removal from courses and restricted access to school services.

Billing Timeline

Aug. 16, 
2019

Financial Aid Applied to the Students Bill: Student grants, institutional scholarships and federal loans are applied to student accounts 10 days prior to the start of the term (Aug. 16). Expenses not covered by scholarships, grants and loans are due the first official start date of the semester (Aug. 26, 2019).

Aug. 26, 2019

First Payment Due: The Fall 2019 semester expenses not covered by scholarships, grants and loans are due the first official start date of the semester. Students and families are provided information about the “W-Pay” plan administered through the Cashier's Office. Students should arrive on campus with money for books, supplies and miscellaneous expenses.

The Fall 2019 bill must be paid in full in order for the student to be permitted to register for the Spring 2020 semester.

The Summer 2019 bill must be paid in full in order for the student to be permitted to register for the Fall 2019 semester.

Payment Options

Paying by Credit Card or Electronic Check

We encourage students to pay in advance by credit card (Visa, Mastercard or Discover) or electronic check. Students can verify their account balance via their MyWestern account.

Pay Your Account Balance Online
  • Log into MyWestern.
  • Click on “Pay Bill/Deposit or Purchase Items.”
  • Click on “Financial Services and Billing.”
  • Click either of the “Pay” buttons in the Your Account box.*
  • Click “Checkout” to pay in full by credit card or electronic check.

    *NOTE: Use “Click here to make payment” only if you have already enrolled in a payment plan.

By law, only enrolled students have access to their Western accounts. If students would like to grant account access to a third-party—such as their parents—they can do so online, using the instructions below. 

To Grant Access to a Third Party
  • Log-in to MyWestern.
  • Click on “Pay Bill/Deposit or Purchase Items.”
  • This will bring you to the ePayment site.
  • Then click “Add New” in the Parent PINs box.

To make a third-party payment, access Western's ePayment Site.

Paying by Mail

Checks must be received by the first official start date of each semester to avoid penalties. Please plan accordingly.

Please include your student's ID number on your check made payable to "Western Colorado University" and mail it to:

Western Colorado University
attn: Cashier's Office
1 Western Way
Gunnison, CO  81231

W-Pay Payment Plan

The W-Pay Payment Plan provides an interest-free option and splits your account balance into four equal payments for an enrollment fee of $40 per semester.

Full terms and conditions are available upon enrollment. Late enrollment in a plan will result in the semester's account balance being split into three equal payments.

To Enroll in a Payment Plan
  • Log into MyWestern.
  • Click on “ Pay Bill/Deposit or Purchase Items.” 
  • Scroll to the bottom and click on “View Installment Plan Information.”
  • Then “Click here to enroll in the Fall/Spring Payment Plan.”
Late Payments

A Late Payment Fee of $50 per month will be applied to the student's account for any subsequent late payments, and will result in any or all of the following actions:

  • A hold will be placed on your account.​
  • Transcripts, diplomas and certifications will not be issued.
  • Registration for classes or change of class schedule will be prohibited.
  • Delinquent accounts are placed with a third-party collection agency, per Colorado law requirements, and will be reported to national credit bureaus.
  • Collection costs and attorneys’ fees, allowed by the Uniform Consumer Credit Code, will be assessed on your account when it is referred to a collection agency.

Refund Information

On occasion, you may receive a refund from Western. Refunds typically result from dropping a class, or receiving financial aid. Since individual circumstances vary widely, not all financial aid recipients receive refunds. For planning purposes, you should determine whether or not you may get a refund by estimating your tuition bill and subtracting your anticipated aid.

Refunds for the Fall 2019 semester will not be processed until the first official start date of the semester, Aug. 26, 2019.

If your bill was paid with cash, check, credit card or financial aid (except Parent PLUS loans designated to be refunded to the parent borrower) and you are eligible for a refund, it is deposited directly into the student’s bank account.

To receive direct deposit, students are required to sign up for E-Refund via their MyWestern account. 

Refunds are typically processed on Mondays and should be deposited into your bank account within two to four business days, depending on the bank. Students are responsible for verifying that funds are available in their account before spending the funds. Students wishing to receive their refund in a paper check must submit this request in writing. This can be done in person at the Cashier's Office or through emailing cashier@western.edu.

To Enroll in E-Refund

  • Have your bank routing number and account number on hand.
  • Log into MyWestern.
  • Click on "Pay Bill/Deposit or Purchase Items."
  • Then “Click here to enroll in E-Refund.”

Refunds reflect your current account activity at Western. You may be assessed future charges if you change your schedule, enroll in a another class, or receive a financial aid adjustment.  

Please monitor your account on MyWestern and be aware that you are responsible for payment of future Western charges.

Refund Policy for Withdrawal

The tuition and fees refund policy set by Western Colorado University is separate from the federal regulation to repay unearned aid. Whether or not you receive a tuition/fee refund has no bearing on the amount you must repay to the federal aid programs. You can also view the Western Refund Policy.

Tuition refunds for withdrawal will be made according to the following schedule:

Tuition and Fees

  •  100% - Through the end of the official Drop Period.
  •   50% -  For the period between 15 and 25% of the term.
  •   25% -  For the period between 25 and 50% of the term.
  •    0% -   For the period after 50% of the term.

Please refer to the Class Schedule for dates of the official Drop Period.

Parents

Account Statements mailed out to the billing address on file once each semester. If you are a person other than the student—such as a parent, grandparent, spouse, or other third-party—you need to be authorized as a third-party payer in order to view and pay the bill online.  

Students can authorize parents or others to view and pay the bill. Once someone is an authorized payer, they will receive email notifications when the tuition and fee bill is available online. Students and authorized payers can log in anytime and view the bill.

To Grant Access to a Third Party
  • Log into MyWestern.
  • Click on "Pay Bill/Deposit or Purchase Items." This will bring you to the ePayment site.
  • Click “Add New” in the Parent PINs box.

FERPA

FERPA is a federal law designed to protect the privacy of students. This law applies to all educational institutions that receive funds under any program administered by the U.S. Secretary of Education. Therefore, the Cashier’s Office is not allowed to discuss information about the student’s account with anyone other than the student.  Students can give access to financial information only by designating parents (or others) as an Authorized Third-Party Payer. (See above for directions)

Billing Timeline

Aug. 16, 2019

Financial Aid Applied to the Students Bill: Student grants, institutional scholarships and federal loans are applied to student accounts 10 days prior to the start of the term (Aug. 16). Expenses not covered by scholarships, grants and loans are due the first official start date of the semester (Aug. 26, 2019).

Aug. 26, 2019

First Payment Due: The Fall 2019 semester expenses not covered by scholarships, grants and loans are due the first official start date of the semester. Students and families are provided information about the “W-Pay” plan administered through the Cashiers Office.  Students should arrive on campus with money for books, supplies and miscellaneous expenses.

The Fall 2019 bill must be paid in full in order for the student to be permitted to register for the Spring 2020 semester.

The Summer 2019 bill must be paid in full in order for the student to be permitted to register for the  Fall 2019 semester.

Parent Common Questions

How do I pay my student’s bill?

With MyWestern, students can authorize their parent(s) and/or other payers to make payments to their behalf. The authorized payers will receive an email notification when their student’s bill is available and will be able to pay and view the bill online on Western's ePayment Site.

How are bills distributed?

Tuition and fee paper billing statements are mailed out only once before each semester to the billing address on file. All students and authorized payers receive an e-mail when the official tuition and fee bill is available online. The email will have a link directing you to the Western's ePayment Site.​

What if I do not receive an e-mail notification?

Bills must be paid by the first official start date of each semester to avoid late and finance charges even if you or your student do not receive the official email notification. Students are able to view their account balance online anytime on MyWestern and authorized payers can log into Western's ePayment Site anytime.

Can I pay the tuition and fee bill from more than one account?

Yes. Enter each transaction separately on Western's ePayment Site. You’ll need the routing and account numbers for each account you wish to use.

How much is the bill going to be?

Tuition and mandatory fee rates are decided the Western Board of Trustees of every year for the following fall, spring, and summer semesters. To view the most recent tuition and fee rates, please see Tuition and Fees.

How much does my student owe?

Students can view their account balances 24/7 through MyWestern. Please note that the tuition and fee bill, and any other charges accumulated while at the university are in the student’s name. This means that ultimately, the student is responsible to make sure the charges are paid in full.

If your student has authorized you as a payer on Western's ePayment Site, you can log in and view the monthly statement.

When is tuition due?

Tuition and fees are due the first official start date of each semester.

What if I can’t pay on time?

Accounts with unpaid balances as of the due date for each semester will be subject to late and finance charges and a financial hold. This will result in a student’s inability to register for a future term, withholding of a transcript and/or degree, and/or disenrollment from future term classes.

What is the College Opportunity Trust Fund (COF)? 

The Colorado Legislature created the College Opportunity Trust Fund (COF) in May 2004. The COF provides a tuition stipend to eligible Colorado resident undergraduate students. The stipend may only be applied to eligible undergraduate courses. The stipend is paid on the credit hour basis to Western Colorado University and then is applied to the student account. The stipend amount is set annually by the Colorado General Assembly.  

Why can’t I automatically see my student’s bill or other information?

Because of the federal Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), the university will not disclose specific information about student accounts. However with MyWestern, students can authorize parents to become an authorized payer, allowing you to both view and pay the university bill. (This access does not allow you to see grades, schedules, or information other than the student’s bill.)

How does my student receive a refund?

Refunds can be deposited directly into your (student’s) bank account. To receive direct deposit, students are required to sign up for E-Refund via their MyWestern account.

Parent PLUS Loan Refunds- Common Questions

If I haven’t received my PLUS Loan refund and I recently moved, where can I update my address?

You should update your address by contacting the Registrars' Office.  If you believe your refund has been lost in the mail, please contact the Cashier’s Office at 970.943.3003 or cashier@western.edu to begin the re-issue process.

How do I get my PLUS Loan refund released to my student?

Written consent is required to release funds to your student. Contact Financial Aid at 970.943.3085 or finaid@western.edu.

How long does it take to receive my refund if I don’t want it released to my student?

If excess funds are to be released to the parent and not the student, the credit balance should be refunded to you via a mailed check within ten business days.

When was the refund mailed?

To find out when your refund was mailed, please contact the Cashier’s Office at 970.943.3003 or cashier@western.edu.

Can I have my PLUS Loan refund direct deposited into my bank account?

The university does not currently offer direct deposit as an option for PLUS Loan refunds.

How do I request an increase in my PLUS Loan amount?

To inquire about a PLUS Loan increase, contact Financial Aid at 970.943.3085 or finaid@western.edu.

I want to cancel my PLUS Loan. Who do I contact?

To cancel your PLUS Loan, you must contact Financial Aid at 970.943.3085 or finaid@western.edu. If you have already received a refund, you may be required to pay it back.

Where do I find information about signing my PLUS Loan promissory note?

You can either contact the contact Financial Aid at 970.943.3085 or finaid@western.edu, or visit www.studentloans.gov for more information.

Policies

Payment Deadlines

Tuition is due in full on the first official start date of each semester. If tuition cannot be paid in full, students must set up a W-Pay Payment Plan and make their first payment by the first official start date of that term. Subsequent due dates are outlined in the Payment Plan Terms and Conditions.

Optional Fees

To opt out of The Mountaineer Field House Fee, Renewable Energy Fee and/or the Scholarly Activity Fee, written consent must be received from the student each semester before the official drop deadline (2.5 weeks after the first official start date of each semester). Students are required to send an email to cashier@western.edu from their Western email address stating which optional fee(s) they would like to waive along with their name and student ID number.

Waiving Mandatory Fees

Western offers a Mandatory Fee Waiver for select populations of Undergraduate students. Students who complete at least 80 percent of their coursework in a given semester away from campus may be eligible to have some mandatory fees waived. Coursework that meets the definition of "away from campus" includes study abroad, off-campus internships or practicum, student teaching or online courses. If an individual class has an on-campus participation component (such as hybrid courses), it would not meet the definition of "away from campus." NSE students are not eligible for a mandatory fee waiver. The Mandatory Fee Waiver form may be requested through the Cashier's Office (cashier@western.edu). You must follow the necessary steps (listed in the form) prior to the term census date to qualify for the waiver (Summer term waiver requests must be turned in by the first day of the term). 

Adjustments to Financial Aid

There are a variety of circumstances that may require an adjustment to a student’s financial aid award. Students should understand how dropping and adding courses, receiving other aid, or other changes may impact their account balance.
View policy

Withdrawal Policy

This policy helps students understand how their account balance may be impacted by withdrawing from one or more classes after receiving financial aid.
View policy

Frequently Asked Questions

Why didn’t I get an account statement in the mail?

Tuition and fee paper billing statements are mailed out only once before each semester to the billing address on file. If you have recently moved or believe we have the wrong address you can update your mailing address onlineA paper bill is not guaranteed to be generated for late registration (Fall: after July 15th; Spring: after Dec. 15th).

Where can I find an itemized account statement?

Authorized payers and students will be sent an e-mail notification when the bill is available to view online. You can click the link in the e-mail, or students can log on to MyWestern to view and pay the bill. Parents and other authorized payers MUST log on directly to Western's ePayment Site  in order to view the bill. 

After you log in to MyWestern, you can view the billing statement, print a copy of the billing statement and forward the bill to someone as an e-mail attachment. Students can sign up authorized payers, set up and store bank account information and make an online payment.

IMPORTANT: Check your university email account regularly for all official university communications. Authorized payers and students will receive an email notification alerting them that a new bill is available. It is the student’s responsibility to check their email and view their bill to avoid late payments. Additional charges may occur throughout the semester.

What is an authorized payer and how do I authorize one?

Students can authorize parents or others to view and pay the bill. Once someone is an authorized payer, he/she will receive e-mail notifications when the tuition and fee bill is available online. Students and authorized payers can log in anytime and view the bill.

  • Log-in to MyWestern
  • Click on “Pay bill/deposit or Purchase Items." This will bring you to the ePayment site.
  • Click “Add New” in the Parent PINs box

NOTE: Students are NOT REQUIRED to authorize payers; however, it is available to them if they choose to do so. Students are ALWAYS responsible for paying any charges they accumulate through the university.

How do parents or other authorized payers log in?

Once you are an authorized payer, you will get an email with a link to Western's ePayment Site when bills are available online. You may also link to Western's ePayment Site from our website. The first time you log in, you will be prompted to change your temporary password. After logging in, you will be able to set up and store your own profile and account information, review the bill, view any past bills, make a payment or view any past online payments you have made online on the student’s behalf through Western's ePayment Site.

What if my authorized payer doesn’t have a computer?

The Cashier's Office is willing to help you and your authorized payer come up with strategies to make your payment process as easy as possible. Please call our office for assistance at 970.943.3003.

You can also choose to print the bill and mail your payment. It is recommended that payments be mailed at least ten business days before the due date because postmarks are not honored. To print the bill, click on the PDF logo on the right hand corner of your bill to download and print. You can also forward copies of your bills to parents or other authorized payers.

When is tuition due?

Tuition and fees are due the first official start date of each semester.

I have a hold on my account. Why?

A hold is placed on a student’s account if they have a past due balance. The hold will prevent you from registering for classes, obtaining transcripts or receiving your diploma. Pay your past due amount on MyWestern and the financial hold will be automatically lifted within 24 hours. If your hold is not lifted, please contact the Cashier’s Office at 970.943.3003 or cashier@western.edu.

I have a credit on my account.  How do I receive a refund?

Refunds can be deposited directly into your (student’s) bank account. To receive direct deposit, students are required to sign up for E-Refund via their MyWestern account. Refunds are processed on Mondays and should be deposited into your bank account within two to four business days, depending on the bank. Students are responsible for verifying that funds are available in their account before spending the funds. Students wishing to receive their refund in a paper check must submit this request in writing. This can be done in person at the Cashier's Office or by emailing cashier@western.edu.

To Enroll in E-Refund

  • Have your bank routing number and account number ready
  • Log-in to MyWestern
  • Click on "Pay bill/deposit or Purchase Items"
  • Then choose “Click here to enroll in E-Refund”

Refunds reflect your current account activity at Western. You may be assessed future charges if you change your schedule, enroll in another class, modify your housing and/or meal plan or receive a financial aid adjustment. Please monitor your account on MyWestern and be aware that you are responsible for payment of future Western charges.

If I withdraw from classes, are my tuition and fees refundable?

Tuition refunds for withdrawal will be made according to the following schedule:

  •  100% - Through the end of the official Drop Period.
  •   50% -  For the period between 15 and 25% of the term.
  •   25% -  For the period between 25 and 50% of the term.
  •    0% -   For the period after 50% of the term.

Please refer to the Class Schedule for dates of the official Drop Period. Here, you can view the Western Refund Policy.

What am I required to do if I receive an eBill for tuition from Western but I have decided to attend another institution?

You must contact the Admissions and/or Student Financial Services to make formal notification that you will not be attending Western. If you do not meet the requirements for formal notification, the tuition charges will remain your personal obligation.

What is COF?

The Colorado Legislature created the College Opportunity Trust Fund (COF) in May 2004, and it provides a tuition stipend to eligible Colorado resident undergraduate students. The stipend may only be applied to eligible undergraduate courses. The stipend is paid on the credit hour basis to Western Colorado University and then is applied to the student account. The stipend amount is set annually by the Colorado General Assembly.

Who is eligible for the COF stipend?

Western undergraduate students who are classified as resident students for tuition purposes are eligible to receive the COF stipend.

What steps must I take to receive the COF stipend?

  1. Apply for COF at https://cof.college-assist.org/.

  2. Authorize Western's use of your COF funds on your behalf through MyWestern. Only then will the COF stipend be credited to your student account.

To authorize the COF stipend, log on to MyWestern.

  • After logging in, go to the "Student Tab"
  • Select "Student Records"
  • Select "COF Stipend Authorization."
  • Select the term you wish to update and click the submit button.
  • Check the appropriate box to accept "lifetime authorization" or to decline.
  • Click the submit button.

What are my responsibilities as a student?

Upon registration at Western, you agree to accept responsibility for any charges and fees to your account, as well as any accepted financial aid and loans. You are also responsible for understanding the official policies concerning schedule changes, withdrawals and leaves from Western and how these changes can affect your financial debt obligation and financial aid eligibility.