President's Climate Commitment at Western

When Western President Jay Helman signed the American College and University President’s Climate Commitment (ACUPCC) last May the college became a Charter member of this important endeavor that has now gathered commitments from more than 340 campus presidents.

Joining in the effort commits Western to completing an emissions inventory, taking a minimum of two steps to reduce greenhouse gas emissions in the first year, and developing a plan which sets a target date and interim milestones for becoming climate neutral.

President Helman has appointed a climate council to develop recommendations for the cabinet and the campus.  The committee has administrative, staff, faculty, and student representation.

RMBL tour

John Hausdoerffer (Faculty, Chair of Environmental Studies Program)
Dustin Hite (Faculty, Assistant Professor of Physics)
Jackie Levy (Student representative)
Janice Lung (Director of Residence Life)
Mark Lung (Faculty, member of the ENVS Council)
Gary Pierson (Administration, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs)
Rod Russell (Staff, Director of Accounting)
Scott Travis (Staff, Manager of Facility Operations)
Jessica Young (Administration, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs)

The Council meets monthly and has the following sub-committee structure:

Calculate Greenhouse Gas Baseline Sub-Committee
Dustin Hite (chair), Rod Russell, Scott Travis

Recommend 2 Tangible Actions to be initiated in the first year
Gary Pierson (chair), Mark Lung, Jackie Levy

Develop a recommended Action Plan
Jessica Young (chair), Janice Lung, John Hausdoerffer