Meet The Admissions Team

Just because we're here in the mountains, doesn't mean your Western admissions experience has to be rocky.

We're here to help make your admission to Western State Colorado University smooth and simple from your first inquiry to your first day of class. Please contact us if there is anything we can help you with as you explore your college opportunities.

Admissions Team

Katie Bainbridge

Admissions Counselor
970.943.2119
kbainbridge@western.edu

B.A. University of Northern Colorado (2005)
Major: Journalism, Public Relations and Advertising
M.S. Oklahoma State University
Major: Educational Leadership Studies 
Hometown: Loveland, Colorado

More about Katie...

Amanda Byers 

Administrative Assistant for Admissions
970.943.2260
abyers@western.edu

B.S. Drake University (2013)
Major: Elementary Education
Minor: Business w/concentration in Reading and English Language Learners 
Hometown: Fort Collins, Colorado

More about Amanda...

Paul Copoulos 

Admissions Counselor 
970.943.7049
pcopoulos@western.edu 

B.S. Drake University (2013)
Major: Marketing and Management 
Hometown: Brookfield, Wisconsin 

More about Paul...

Ciera Freson

Assistant Director of Admissions- Communication
970.943.2012
cfreson@western.edu

More about Ciera...

 

 

Eric Freson

Assistant Director of Admissions Operations
970.943.7038
efreson@western.edu

B.A. Western State Colorado University (2009)
Major: Business and Outdoor Leadership double major
Hometown: Pittsford, Vermont

More about Eric...

Dale Gaubatz

Director of Admissions
970.943.2119
admissions@western.edu

B.A. Texas Tech University
Major: Sociology & Communication 
M.A. University of the Incarnate Word
Major: Organizational Development 
Hometown: Topeka, St. Louis, and Fair Oaks, Texas

More about Dale...

Paul Giberson

Transfer Coordinator
970.943.2246
pgiberson@western.edu

B.A. Western State Colorado University (2001)
Major: Exercise & Sport Science  
M.S. Colorado State University 
Major: Student Affairs in Higher Education  
Hometown: Breckenridge, Colorado 

More about Paul...

Greg Maestas 

Admissions Counselor
970.765.6496
gmaestas@western.edu

B.A. Western State Colorado University (1974)
Major: Physical Education 
M.A. Western State Colorado University (1980) 
Major: Secondary Education  
Hometown: Aurora, Colorado 

More about Greg...

Tanith Martinez

Enrollment Services Office Assistant
970.943.2243
tmartinez@western.edu

B.S. Metropolitan State University of Denver (2003)
Major: Aerospace Science
Minor: Computer Information Systems  
Hometown: Ouray, Colorado

More about Tanith...

Stephanie Ruybal

Assistant Director of Admissions- Recruitment and Campus Experience 
970.943.2261
sruybal@western.edu

B.A. Western State Colorado University (2008)
Major: Sociology/Criminal Justice 
Hometown: La Jara, Colorado

More about Stephanie...

Sara Smith

Admissions Counselor 
970.943.2203
slsmith@western.edu

B.S. Roberts Wesleyan College (2012)
Major: Cross-Disciplinary Studies w/concentrations in Psychology, Social Work and Biblical Studies 
Hometown: Hoosick Falls, New York 

More about Sara...

Brian Zaun

Admissions Counselor 
970.596.6681
bzaun@western.edu

B.A. Butler University (1996)
Major: Sociology 
Minor: 
Hometown: 

More about Brian...