Election & Rules Committee 2010-2011

The Election and Rules Committee shall:

  • Conduct the elections for at-large Senators in the spring.

  • Conduct other elections as directed by the Senate, and act as tellers.

  • Monitor the election processes for which there is a specified procedure in each of the departments and report any and all infractions to the Senate

  • Examine the Constitution and Bylaws for the purpose of recommending changes, which would result in a more effective operation of the Senate.

  • Consider procedural problems at the written request of a committee of the Senate or the Chair of the Senate.

  • Prior to the election of Senators during the Spring Term, examine the staffing pattern of each academic unit to determine the number of Senators allocated

  • according to Article IV of the Faculty Constitution and notify each department of the number allocated.

  • Certify the eligibility for the election of Senators to comply with Article IV of the Constitution.

  • Serve as a final authority on interpretation of the Constitution and Bylaws.

  • Appoint a Parliamentarian for the Senate.

  • Adjudicate jurisdictional disputes between/among committees, including but not limited to assignment of matters to standing committees.

  • Determine the yearly election calendar for Senate and committee elections.

Parliamentarian for 2010-2011:  Roger Hudson rhudson@western.edu; Phone: (970) 943-3204

Membership:

Rob Fillmore  rfillmore@western.edu; Phone: (970) 943-2650

Mark Gibson  mgibson@western.edu; Phone: (970) 943-2036

Kim Huerter  khuerter@western.edu; Phone (970) 943- 3234

Terry Schliesman tschliesman@western.edu; Phone (970) 943-2036

Larry Sheret lsheret@western.edu; Phone (970) 943-2898